When Is Parliament Vote On Withdrawal Agreement

Posted by on Dec 21, 2020 in Uncategorized | 0 comments

In the Brussels Parliament, many MEPs made it clear that they were voting in favour of the withdrawal deal, not for any reason for Brexit, but to avoid disrupting a chaotic divorce without a deal. Immediately after the announcement of a revised withdrawal agreement on October 17, 2019, Labour, the Liberal Democrats and the DUP said they could not support the new agreement. [30] The vote was followed by a statement by the committee`s chairman, Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) and a discussion between the Parliament`s Brexit coordinator, Guy Verhofstadt (Renew Europe, BE) and the coordinators of the political groups. Charles Michel, President of the European Council, welcomed the vote and tweeted that it was an “important step in the process of ratifying Article 50”. He added that “equal conditions of competition remain a must for all future relations.” He recalled the EU`s call for fair competition in exchange for a free trade agreement with zero tariffs and zero quotas. The most important elements of the draft agreement are: [21] On 22 October 2019, the House of Commons agreed, by 329 votes to 299, to give a second reading to the revised withdrawal agreement (negotiated by Boris Johnson earlier this month), but that the accelerated timetable it proposed did not receive the necessary parliamentary support, Johnson announced that the legislation would be overturned. [38] [12] The first (Amendment 18) would ensure the continuity of refugee children and the provisions of the Eu Withdrawal Act 2018 for family reunification. MePs voted by 300 votes in favour and 220 against, which resulted in the amendment. The transitional period from 1 February expires at the end of December 2020.

Any agreement on future relations between the EU and the UK must be concluded in full before that date, when it is due to come into force on 1 January 2021. On Thursday evening, the member of the House of Commons ratified the government`s withdrawal agreement by 330 votes to 231. The second (Amendment 20) concerns the knowledge of the Sewel Convention, which guarantees that the British Parliament cannot legislate on decentralised issues without the agreement of the de decentralised legislator. MEPs voted by 239 votes in favour and 235 against, resulting in the amendment. On the issue of the Irish border, there is a protocol on Northern Ireland (the “backstop”) which is attached to the agreement and establishes a position of withdrawal which will only come into force in the absence of effective alternative provisions before the expiry of the transition period. In this case, the UK will eclipse the EU`s common external tariff and Northern Ireland will stick to aspects of the internal market until such an event is carried out. Neither party can unilaterally withdraw from this customs union. The aim of this backstop agreement is to avoid a “hard” border in Ireland, where customs controls are needed. [19] With ratification by the British Parliament concluded today with the approval of the European Union Withdrawal Act (withdrawal agreement), MEPs on the Constitutional Affairs Committee voted 23 in favour, 3 against and no abstentions in favour of a positive recommendation on the WITHDRAWAL agreement between the EU and the United Kingdom. The bill adopts second reading by 358 votes to 234 who leave the UK on the way to leaving the EU by the end of January. MEPs voted by 269 votes in favour and 229 against, resulting in the amendment. But he said he was still asking Labour to vote against the law because “we warned before the general election that the Prime Minister`s Brexit deal was a terrible deal for our country, and we still think it is a terrible deal today.” The withdrawal agreement was adopted by the European Parliament on Wednesday evening by 621 votes in and 49 against and 13 abstentions.

The process of ratifying the withdrawal agreement will continue next year, but Friday`s vote is expected to indicate in part that the UK is now heading towards the departure date of 31 January.